



Joint Statement from Ontario's Farm Leaders

The leadership of Ontario's agricultural organizations named below are pleased to find common ground with the Ontario government in respect to protecting farmland under the proposed Provincial Planning Statement, with thanks to Premier Doug Ford, Minister of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs Lisa Thompson and Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing Steve Clark, for their willingness to meet with farmers on this issue, better understand our position and work together to find a resolution on this matter.

We understand — and support — the need to increase the housing supply in Ontario, but we also want to ensure that housing is developed without encroaching on Ontario's farmland, which is our most precious natural resource.

It is extremely encouraging that the Government is committed to continuing to work with Ontario's farming community to find solutions. This commitment will ensure the protection of farmland and allow Ontario's farmers to continue to feed the villages, towns and cities of the province. In addition, local farm leaders across the province look forward to engaging in the extended consultations with respect to the proposed *Provincial Planning Statement*.

Since 2018, the Premier and his team have been strong advocates for the agricultural sector and had the backs of Ontario farmers. We look forward to continuing to work with this government to ensure Ontarians have a sustainable supply of fresh, healthy and local food on their dinner tables both now, and in the future.

Sincerely,

Peggo Bukveld.

Peggy Brekveld, President Ontario Federation of Agriculture

Ed Scharringa, President

Christian Farmers Federation of Ontario

Max Hansgen, President National Farmers Union-Ontario

Murray Sherk, Chair Dairy Farmers of Ontario

Jack Chaffe, President Beef Farmers of Ontario

Brian Ricker, Chair Turkey Farmers of Ontario

the de Buyn

John DeBruyn, Chair

Ontario Pork

Murray Opsteen, Chair Chicken Farmers of Ontario

Scott Helps Chair Egg Farmers of Ontario

Bill Bears, Chair Ontario Broiler Hatching Egg & Chick Commission

Phil Kroesbergen Veal Farmers of Ontario

Bernard Pope, Chair and Martin Straathof, Executive Director Ontario Farmland Trust